NZ Children’s Book Reviews is still active!

It may look as if I’ve disappeared but what with finishing a batch of study (I now have my National Certificate in Adult Education and Training – phew what a mouthful!) and supervising NCEA exams I haven’t had time to read. Believe me I’m trying! I have Reach by Hugh Brown sitting right next to me and if I can get it read and reviewed by the end of November I’ll post it up. Any later and you’ll all have shut down for the year. Although I have no intention of closing this site so  I might just post it up when I finish regardless of the date and it’ll be ready for you in the new year.

I have exciting plans for next year – more study – this time a Graduate Certificate in Children’s Literature studying myths, legends and fantasy. That’ll mean a new focus at NZ Children’s Book Reviews for 2013. This year has been mostly about realistic stories (and mostly with male protagonists interestingly enough) so next year I’ll look at NZ fantasy fiction and also at some of the myths and legends (Maori and European) that have helped shape us and our stories. Should be exciting and I look forward to sharing my thoughts with you.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

